I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!
Minor in Possesion, What You Need to Know
February 28, 2018
In Nevada, it is a misdemeanor for persons under the age of 21 to purchase, possess or consume alcohol, with exceptions. Juveniles under the age of 18 almost always face a minimum 90 day driver’s licence suspension as punishment for these offenses and community service is also commonly imposed by the juvenile courts. Nevada law does not provide for the seizure of drivers licenses for 18-20 year old adults as a penalty for Minor in Possession/Consumption0 (MIP/C) charges or misdemeanor possession of false identification. 18-20 year olds can be cited for MIP/C, arrested, or taken into civil protective custody. Unlike juveniles, they will have a criminal record if convicted, and could also be sentenced to pay a fine, do community service, or attend a treatment program. Since MIPs are a low-level misdemeanor, young adults charged with this offense can avoid a criminal record with effective legal defense.
If you are accused of an MIP/C, plead not guilty in adult court. If you are a juvenile, deny the charges if the probation officer says your license will be suspended. It is still possible for juveniles to avoid a driving ban with effective legal defense. In both juvenile and adult courts you will have a formal trial if you plead not guilty or deny charges and no plea agreement is made before the trial date. Many prosecutors and/or judges will drop MIP/C charges if young adults complete community service or alcohol awareness programs. UNR offers alcohol programs and legal services for its students. Talk to an effective legal defender like Henry Sotelo to keep your record clean or keep your driver’s license.